Happiness is: a freezer stash

08/12/2011 at 1:05 pm | Posted in Happiness is | 5 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

breastmilk

I survived my first week back to work. And Sophie’s introduction to day care.

Whew.

This has been one of the most emotionally draining weeks ever, what with detaching from my baby for longer than a couple of hours, trying to retrain my brain to my other job, and pumping milk in my very quiet office. If you’d have told me three months ago that I’d be lugging a pump to work and stashing breastmilk in the break room fridge, I’d have said you were straight-up crazy. I didn’t have success nursing Lily beyond six weeks, and I’ve been pleasantly surprised every single day that my body is still producing milk for Sophie. Like it’s going to go on strike at any moment.

That’s why the picture above is a big deal for me. Filling those teeny bags only halfway is a coups.

Thank you for all of your kind words and support this week. I’ve saved the emails, tweets and voicemail messages as reminders of how lucky I am. And I want you to know that Sophie did beautifully in her new environment, and everyone there adores her (of course).

Again, whew.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Of course everyone loves Sophie. I am sure she is the star of her class. I’m proud of you both! (And Lily as always.)

  2. Congrats! You made it through the hardest week!
    Quiet, relaxing lunch hours in your future…

  3. You made it! The first week is the hardest.

  4. you are awesome! it will keep getting easier as you slip into your new normal. hugs!

  5. Yay for that stash, & a completed first week of work & that baby & mommy are both good! Been thinking of you.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

