Happiness is: Essie's mint candy apple

09/07/2011 at 9:06 pm | Posted in Happiness is | 4 Comments
Tags: , , ,

toes with Essie polish

This is going to sound silly and ridiculous, but my feet made me happy today.

Not much else of me feels very pretty right now. Most of my clothes still don’t fit, dark rings frame my eyes, and my hair has begun its postpartum shed.

Don’t get me wrong. I love my body. It grew two children, pushed them out into the world and nourished them with milk. It comforts their tears, engulfs them in love. It makes me proud.

But I just don’t feel anywhere near attractive.

So when I catch a glimpse of mint-green toes wrapped in my favorite pink sandals, I feel happy.

It’s the little things, right?

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yes! I’m jealous of your toes! I haven’t painted my nails since I got a pedicure at 38 weeks pregnant, trying to get labor going! Emmaline will be 10 months old this month! I need to get some polish on these babies!

    • I hear you! My last pedi was before Sophie was born … this one was DIY, but still counts, right? 🙂

  2. I love that color! Yay for feet making you happy!!

  3. I love both those colors! (and i totally know what you mean about the post-babe body…)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

