Friday weigh-in

09/30/2011 at 9:29 am | Posted in weight loss | 21 Comments
Tags: ,

Those are my feet. Pretend they’re on a scale. Because I’m way too chicken to publish THAT number right now.

I also took some delightful “before” photos. Those will be revealed eventually. When I have some “after” shots to soften the blow.

The first week of my weight loss/get healthy experiment? Not too bad.I’m just so happy to finally get started.

Here are the stats:

The scale says:  0 (no loss, no gain)
Fried chicken count:  0 (this is big)
Exercise:  none (yet …)
Highs:  Writing this post; getting so much support; finally taking action
Lows:  Having to unbutton my pants on the way home from work Tuesday; the woman at the Gap searching loudly for size zero jeans
Moral victory of the week:  Walking right past Gigi’s Cupcakes without setting foot inside

How was your week? What steps did you take toward healthiness?

21 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Love the shoes! I haven’t eaten potatoes in 2 weeks. That’s something right…

    You are doing great!

    • No potatoes in two weeks? That is a BIG accomplishment. I think I eat them daily. Way to go, friend!

  2. Good job for your first week! Did you see Modern Family this week? Cam’s storyline reminded me of our conversation about this topic. Good luck.

    • Yes! I could not stop laughing at that storyline … the stages of the crash diet … culminating in the ocean. Too freaking funny. I love that show. Makes me feel normal. 🙂

  3. Chasing after Small Fry should definitely count as exercise!!

  4. How can someone be a size 0? It’s like the absence of size. That would have been a low point for me too. Good for you on your resolution! This week I’m trying to get back on the wagon of eating fewer carby foods.

    • Exactly what I was thinking … what IS a size zero? Really. I don’t think I’ve ever been that small … except like in the third grade. Thanks for writing … and good luck cutting carbs! Those are the hardest.

  5. I think you’re very brave to tackle this and share it with us. Thank you!
    Completely unrelated, I love your shoes! So cute.

  6. My hubby and I did a weight loss competition starting Feb 2010… we started swimming at the Y. Still swimming a year and a half later, although not as much. We swim ~20 laps 3-4 times a week. It’s great exercise. And with the help of a waterproof MP3 player, it is actually kind of fun!

    Hubby is now doing low carb, and losing plenty of weight doing that. He isn’t Atkins low carb… basically he avoids sweets, french fries, regular soda… if we go out he tells the waiter to leave off the potatoes and add more veggies. It’s working so far, and he’s not having too much trouble sticking to it!

  7. Oo I love those cute shoes!! I woke up at 5am twice this week to do my workout dvd for the first time in months. Eesh.

    • You are a stronger woman than I. VERY impressive!

  8. fried chicken count is amazing. I would not have the willpower.

  9. Way to go!! Hey –have you tried using myfitnesspal.com? It’s a GREAT site / app. –very easy food diary. I really enjoy using it.

    • Ooh — I haven’t heard of that. Will definitely check it out. Thanks!

  10. That’s awesome and I commend you for putting it “out there”, my son is 9 months and I’m just starting to tackle losing the baby weight….personally I need the accountability so I joined weight watchers, 3 pounds lost so far, hey it’s something 😉 keep going!

    • I’ve been contemplating Weight Watchers. Have friends who swear by it. Just not sure about the whole point system … I’m horrible at math. But I like that the program gives you the freedom to make your own food choices …. and it’s not radical, cutting out major food groups. Still thinking about it …

  11. That’s awesome! Sometimes the NSV (non-scale victories) mean more than a number on the scale can ever tell you!

  12. Does my driving to Gigi’s only to find them closed count as a high or low…not sure. Either way I didn’t eat a cupcake. 🙂 With you all the way!

  13. You know what? Your low wasn’t making a dozen muffins and eating 6 of them before anyone saw/sniffed them. I also ate a half dozen breadsticks from Fazoli’s. In the car. When no one was looking. I also shut a door by accident with my belly this week. I’ll join you soon…when my baby comes. Until then, that’s my excuse for a horrible diet. And shutting doors with body parts other than hands.

    Cute shoes and pants by the way! 🙂

  14. I’m right there with you. This post-baby weight has got to go. I made it to the gym twice this week but haven’t cut out the fried chicken and I totally should, that and the ice cream. Baby steps right?

  15. Your shoes are so cute! Also, I’m proud of you. I’ve fallen a little bit off the wagon when it comes to the whole taking steps towards being more healthy thing…I did really well for a week and a half or so, but the last week has been a little harder. That is, I’ve caved into the cookies and sugars/grains more than I wanted to. Wait – not more than I wanted to. More than I wanted to want to. Does that make sense?


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

