Full circle

10/02/2011 at 9:52 pm | Posted in About town, PPD | 7 Comments
Tags: , ,

When Lily was about 10 weeks old, I went to my first Moms Supporting Moms meeting. I could barely breathe I was so scared.

But then I met other moms going through postpartum depression, heard their stories, saw their tears and left that room feeling, for the first time since having a baby, NORMAL.

Validated. Not alone.

It was awesome.

I went to those meetings every Thursday night for about a year. Then, when I felt able, I began volunteering  for Postpartum Education and Support. I wanted to give back.

Yesterday, my postpartum experience came full circle.

I’ve technically been recovered from postpartum depression for years, and I teetered briefly on the brink after delivering Sophie. But I’m well now. Really well.

And the StrollerThon brought it all home.

As I watched my father shake my doctor’s hand, met the babies of the women who have poured out their hearts in our meetings, and hugged all of those other survivor mamas, I felt exhilarated.

Pictured above are: my new bloggy friend Amy and her daughter Charlotte, Beth Anne and Harrison, Ann and new baby Cole, my dad Al, Laura and Olive, and Ann’s husband Jack with their other son Ian.

Marc, Lily and Sophie arrived shortly after the walk … boy was I happy to see these faces:

Here is my friend Natalia and her sweet Lila:

And, here is my niece kicking butt in the Tot Trot race:

It was a wonderful, humbling day.

Circle. Complete.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. A big e-hug and virtual high-five to you, my friend. You done good.

    On a side note, as a non-profit professional who has done a lot of fundraisers, I think it is AWESOME that they have support groups and walks to raise money for this cause!

  2. That is really awesome. I love when the circle comes ’round. 🙂

    You should feel really awesome!!!!

  3. LOVED seeing you this weekend. You make my heart happy.

  4. beautiful hope!

  5. Awesome meeting you in person! The Strollerthon was great, and I’m glad to be a part of such a wonderful organization.

  6. So sorry I missed it but SO glad it was a beautiful day and a lot of fun! Hope to be there next year!! 🙂

    • Thanks, Andrea! You’ve been such a wonderful support, and I really appreciate it!!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

