Friday weigh-in: week 2

10/07/2011 at 2:49 pm | Posted in weight loss | 15 Comments
Tags: , ,

Week number two? Not so bad.

I actually lost weight by making small adjustments to my lifestyle. I parked far away from Target, the grocery, work. I stored my snacks and meals in the downstairs break room fridge, to force myself to climb more stairs … and think twice about whether or not I was really hungry. I replaced sweet tea with Diet Coke. I skipped dessert at lunchtime (dinnertime desserts are a whole other story). I drank a ton of water. I kept up my food journal (thanks to the advice of so many of you!)

And it paid off!

I know this is the easy part. The hard stuff will come when I get serious about exercise (still can’t figure out how to work it into my schedule) and when I hit that inevitable plateau.

But I’m going to enjoy this small victory. And I’m going to keep up (and improve on) these lifestyle changes. Eventually, I’d like for that Diet Coke to be unsweet tea. One thing at a time …

Here are this week’s stats:

The scale says:  -3 pounds (!!!!!)
Fried chicken count:  0  (But I ate fried okra. And fried green tomatoes. Dang.)
Exercise:  Light walks with the girls; climbing more stairs; parking further away everywhere
Highs:  Losing three pounds; being able to button one pair of jeans
Lows:  Eating said fried foods; feeling winded after a flight of steps
Moral victory of the week:  Saying “no thank you” when the Panera lady offered me a treat from the bakery
Moment of weakness: Those delicious little cupcakes from the Deputy (totally worth it)
Progress toward goal: Three pounds down, 17 to go.

How was your week? Which foods are the most difficult for you to avoid?

15 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Awesome job!!

  2. I love these update emails. I think I’m going need to reread them through the week to stay motivated.
    Thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks! You have no idea how motivating it is for me to hear from you guys. Keep me posted on your progress!

  3. So proud of you! Awesome!

    • Thanks, friend!

      Sorry I missed you at Erin’s party the other night. Would have loved to catch up in person. One of these days …

  4. You are on the right track! KEEP UP THE AWESOME WORK!!~! Every little bit helps! {and you can still indulge.. that’s the beauty of a well BALANCED “life style”.

    I know what you are going through. At a lower period in my life, I managed to gain 15 pounds in 3 weeks {and yes, I didn’t have any excuse.. I ate out of depression, not because I was procreating a beautful miracle.} But, nonetheless, I ADMIRE what you are doing, and having the courage to write about it publicly makes it all that much more inspiring. You ARE the inspiration for so many other woman who have been or are currently in the position that you are now in. KEEP GOING! YOU ARE DOING A TERRIFIC JOB!

    {Monique} =D

    • Thank you for your support! It’s weird dieting “in public,” but I’m so glad it’s opened the door to such great conversations with others …

  5. Way to go! I like your idea of parking farther away and keeping the snacks on a different floor. My downfall are the students’ class snack. A handful of goldfish or an extra cheese stick can really add up over a week! Also the cake in the teacher’s lounge was hard to avoid…

    I also need to keep a food journal!
    Thanks for the inspiration!

    • I’m the same way with the girls’ plates … constantly eating that last bit of mac and cheese or those last pieces of chicken nugget. You’re so right. Cutting out those “little bites” surely would make a difference. Thanks for the tip!!

  6. WTG! I lost 2 lbs this week, I think drinking more water and less soda really helped. thanks for the added motivation 🙂

    • Awesome! Thank YOU for the motivation. Keep me posted!!

  7. wow, that’s great!! good for you! your blog posting is actually helping to motivate me, and I too, still can’t figure out how to schedule in exercise 🙂 Weekends are tough, pizza is my downfall ;( but i just try to be more aware of portion sizes now…and no eating after 8pm, seems to help..

    • Thanks for your encouragement! I’m glad to be in this together … it helps to have so many of you guys writing in with updates on your diets, exercise, etc. I like your idea of nothing after 8 p.m. I need to obey that rule for caffeine, for sure. And, as for pizza, I’m totally with you. Cannot resist.

  8. Great job!!

    • Thanks, lady! Really appreciate you stopping by. You’re a celebrity in these parts, you know. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

