Seven years ago today

10/23/2011 at 9:03 pm | Posted in Love | 3 Comments
Tags: , ,

Do you ever play that game … “one year/month/day ago at this exact moment, I was (insert memory here)”?

I do it all the time. Especially on special occasions.

Every year on Lily’s birthday I pause at exactly 11:20 a.m. to reflect on the amazing moment of her birth.

And today.

Exactly seven years ago right now, I was cutting a rug at my wedding reception at a country club in a beautiful little town along the North Carolina coast. Huge grin plastered across my face, tattered wedding dress train slung over my arm, squeezing the hand of my new husband.

I got lucky. I married one of the good ones.

(In fact, he’s upstairs right now consoling a fussy Sophie.)

And I can honestly say that I’m as happy today as I was in that blissful moment seven years ago.

Happier, really.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hello.
    I have been reading your blog for a while now. I love hearing your stories about your girls. I also have two little ones, a girl and a boy.
    But, I just saw today that we share the same anniversary…I mean, REALLY the same. Seven years ago today (well, yesterday now) I married the love of my life too.

    Anyway, I love your blog. Have a great day!

    • Hey Elizabeth — Thanks so much for writing! I always love to “meet” my readers. And, happy anniversary to you too! Hooray for Oct. 23. 🙂

  2. Happy (belated) anniversary!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

