Just Write: what's in my head

11/08/2011 at 4:48 pm | Posted in Motherhood | 14 Comments
Tags: , ,

(As I lay down last night, my mind began to do its usual let’s-keep-Suzanne-awake-by-churning-through-a-thousand-thoughts-a-minute. So I thought it would be fun to give you guys a peek inside my spinning head. Here’s what happens when I close my eyes. Consider yourself warned.)

Ahhh bed. It feels so freaking good to be horizontal. The sheets are cool. My pillows are just right. But what’s that itch? Dang tag. Oh, and there’s another hole. Need to get new pj’s. Old Navy is having a sale. I’ll head there tomorrow over my lunch. Crap. I forgot to pack my lunch. There are a couple of Lean Cuisines in the freezer at work. But I need carrots. And maybe some pretzels. Those pretzel crisps are so good. The bag is almost empty, though. And we need milk. Need to hit Food Lion on my way home from work. And pick up the girls. I should turn on the light to write this down. No, I’ll remember it. Besides Marc is sleeping good. I can just write it in the dark (fumbling for bedside pen and paper). There. Now I won’t forget. Oh, I forgot. Mom needs more diapers at her house for Sophie (gropes nightstand for list, scrawls “diapers for mom” somewhere on it). Okay. We’re all set for tomorrow. Is that Sophie coughing again? Poor baby. I wonder if I should turn up her humidifier. Or maybe give her some Tylenol. Nah. She’s quiet now. I do need to change her crib bedding, though. And Lily’s sheets. Oh, and Lily needs those jeans on my dresser for tomorrow. I hope it’s not going to be too cold. Where is her winter hat? Maybe I left it in the car. That dang tire light came on again. I’ll need to tell Marc. I wonder if we need new tires. And the car really needs a bath. All that mud from the state fair parking lot. Man, the fair was fun. I miss it. I wish I’d grabbed an extra Miss Debbie’s apple for my mom. She loves caramel apples. We should have a family dinner sometime soon. It’s been too long. Let’s see … we’re busy next weekend, but maybe the following one. Geez. Thanksgiving is going to be here before we know it. I think I’ll make mac-and-cheese this year. There’s a good recipe in Cooking Light. Where did I put that magazine? It should be in the kitchen somewhere. The kitchen. The sink. I forgot to tackle those bottles soaking in the sink. I’ll get them in the morning. And the girls’ lunchboxes are in the pantry. Can’t forget Sophie’s prune juice. And Lily’s lovey for naptime. Maybe I should write that down …

14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Good to know I’m not alone!

  2. You and I could share a brain.

  3. eeps!!

  4. Haha all the time. Love this!

  5. This isn’t how everyone thinks, all the time? hehe Great Post!

  6. Holy cow! How do you ever fall asleep?!

    • I actually have to tell myself to stop … and I try to think about the beach or something calming. It’s nuts!

  7. dear suzanne you started my day with some good laughs with this post so i appreciate once again your many special talents and human connection…just a little longer and you will begin to feel the wisdom of longevity to quiet things down for you…keep that chin up…xxxooo

  8. This is great –so funny and very relatable. I’m glad I’m not the only one who has these thoughts. BTW, I saw that recipe you’re talking about in Cooking Light for Mac & Cheese 🙂

    • Have you tried it? I’m skeptical of the secret ingredient (what can really replace cheese?) … but figure it’s worth a try!

      • Nope –not yet. I just clipped it out and stuffed it into my recipe folder.

  9. exactly! and does husband wonder why you can’t remember where the keys are too???! it’s just one simple thing, right?

    • Ha! He seriously thinks I’ve lost my mind most days. The forgetfulness is astounding …

  10. I got tired just reading this.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

