Because I'm weird

11/10/2011 at 12:57 pm | Posted in Everything else | 6 Comments
Tags: ,

I would rather tap out a text or write an email than talk on the phone any day. And as a result of this, my long-distance relationships suffer. I hope these people (you know who you are) never forget that I love them and would do anything to wrap my arms around them right this minute.

Sometimes I am nicer to perfect strangers than I am to my own family. That sucks, and I hate it.

Whenever I receive a card or letter, I love to keep the envelope too.

I am extremely introverted. When I walk into a party (or any other type of gathering, be it social or professional), I clam up immediately. I’ve also trained myself to push through it. Put a smile on my face and force one foot in front of the other. I don’t want to be a wallflower. I’m just wired that way.

I worry constantly about keeping everyone happy. To the point that I make people unhappy in the process.

Broccoli? I love it. Lima beans too.

Writing this blog is like walking a tight rope. I might tip over at any given moment from sharing too much information or offending someone. It’s a little nerve-wracking.

I’m the worst story- and joke-teller in the history of stories and jokes. I can write a blue streak, but in person, I always bomb. Cue the blank stares.

I embarrass myself, by myself. Like, if I’m singing ALONE in the car and I mess up the lyrics, my cheeks flush and I look around to see if anyone (all of the imaginary people riding with me, right?) has noticed.

Spontaneity is not easy for me. I’m a planner. And I worry that it offends people when I try to schedule them in. It’s an accomplishment for me to pick up and do something on a moment’s notice.

I get defensive really easily. People think it’s funny. It is.

I’m gullible. Oh so gullible. To the point that I once believed to be true some Prince song lyrics that would make the man himself blush.

I am really, truly a happy person. Some people seem to think this is an act. It’s not. I love my life, I feel blessed and I like to let it show, especially here in my little corner of the internet. Annoying? Maybe. But real. Definitely real.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love this. And on a lot of them, I can completely relate! You had me laughing out loud about the singing in the car. Yes, your imaginary passengers totally noticed. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. I think you and me are similar in a lot of ways :). I’m definitely with you in that I embarrass myself even when I’m alone. I can’t watch parts of tv shows or movies when the characters are doing stupid things because I get incredibly embarrassed and uncomfortable for them!

    I also worry WAY to much about trying to make everyone happy, get defensive rather quickly, and… well lots of other things you mentioned above. Thanks for blogging, I love reading it!

  3. You’re my kind of weird!

  4. Ahhh…yes! Someone who understands all those imaginary people ๐Ÿ™‚ I can nod right along with you on a number of those things…so your not weird. Or. Your not weird alone!

  5. And that’s why we ~heart~ Sue! You’re no weirder than the rest of “us” and that’s why we’ve all been friends for such a long time!

    • Amen, sister!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

