Friday weigh-in: the week of the bug

11/18/2011 at 9:25 am | Posted in weight loss | 4 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

My new favorite photo of Sophie and me. Just because.

I lost two pounds this week!

But it feels like this little victory shouldn’t count. Because I owe it to a nasty stomach bug.

I wish I could say I’d been out exercising every day and eating only good stuff, but the truth is, I just haven’t been eating much at all because I’ve been feeling like crap.

True to form, though, I choose to focus on the silver lining (two pounds gone!) and will try to keep the downward trend going. Without the help of a bug, I hope.

The scale says: -2
Fried chicken count: 0
Exercise: Does running to the toilet count?
Highs: Dropping  two pounds; discovering WhoNu? cookies (thanks, Amy).
Lows: The awful, awful bug. Also: spotting a size-zero mom with a weeks-old baby.
Moral victory of the week: Choosing trail mix over doughnuts at a meeting.
Moment of weakness: Indulging in a few too many comfort carbs.
Progress toward goal: 2 pounds down, 18 to go

How was your week? Has the dreaded stomach bug ripped through your world? I hope not.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yay for loosing two pounds! Sorry to hear it was because of a nasty stomach bug. That’s never ever fun. But I’m sure it will be the beginning of a downward trend.

    I hope nobody else was sick too. Also not fun. The only upside, at least it was here, my kids (4 & 2) remember how awful being “throw-up sick” was. It’s a great motivator for hand washing and the like. I’m also on my way to creating germaphobes. Not yet sure if that’s good or bad. 😉

  2. Hope you’re feeling better. Size zero mamas make me want to cry. Stay strong! 🙂

  3. Dude, the stomach bugs are the worst! BUT, they do tend to be good jump-starts to a weight loss goal. 😉 That actually happened to me shortly before our wedding. No appetite = dress fitting like a glove! Magic. I hope you feel better and can stick to your great healthy habits! And the size-0 new mom? Um, bitch. (j/k. i’m sure she’s a lovely person. but kinda not really)

    Also, totally unrelated, but do you use a plugin for your “Friends & Sponsors” banners? I’ve been trying to find one to use on my own site instead of just putting people’s spots up as text widgets, and yours is one of the sites I’ve been admiring.

    • Hey there!

      To do the “friends & sponsors” section, I use Dreamweaver and my FTP site to generate and place the code for the images. I’m not sure of a plugin, but WP has so many, you might luck out. I know just enough code to do some (very little) sidebar stuff. Sorry not to be more helpful!

      Good luck!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

