Wistful

11/22/2011 at 10:09 am | Posted in baby sunshine | 4 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Some days, we never even got out of the big brown chair.

Her, sleeping in my arms, on my chest. Waking only to eat.

Me, head back, drifting in and out of that weird state of semi-sleep that my mother-instinct would allow. Never full-on, deep sleep. Always a little alert, just in case.

We’d shift and snuggle, all warmth and sweetness and the smell of milk. I’d watch her chest rise and fall, the little wisps of her hair swaying in response.

Her, pressed to me.

Me, shelter. Comfort.

Us, a haven.

I don’t know if it’s my hormones, or the fact that Sophie is growing so ridiculously fast, or the knowledge that she is my last baby. But, this I do know: I miss those days. Those new-baby, sleep-hazy days. When my only job was to be a mother, my only responsibility to keep her fed and comfortable and happy.

Our bodies fused together in the big brown chair.

I miss it.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It goes so quickly doesn’t it? But then there are new stages that are just as sweet to take their place. Sometimes it makes my heart hurt.

  2. Aww, I loved those days and miss them too!

  3. I had a blue chair just like that. I miss it too. đŸ˜¦

  4. me, too…


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

