Happiness is: a new year

01/01/2012 at 1:26 pm | Posted in Happiness is | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

“And now we welcome the new year, full of things that have never been.”
— Rainer Maria Rilke

11:38 p.m. New Year’s Eve. Marc and I are tucked into the couch, struggling to keep our eyes open. Glass of champagne in hand and flannel pajama bottoms on, I’m ready to send off 2011 and greet a new year.

When I hear Sophie’s little squawk, I pretend it was just the TV. Jenny McCarthy, right?

But then, the undeniable sound of an unhappy baby blares across the monitor, and I realize I have exactly 20 minutes to rock her back to sleep. In my haste, I ask Marc to DVR the ball drop. You know, pause the arrival of the new year.

The good news is that I miraculously got the baby back to sleep and dashed downstairs just in time to kiss my husband at midnight. The bad news? Sophie woke again. And then again at 6 a.m.

As miserable as that sounds, all I feel is gratitude (and a little sleepiness). Because wasn’t I lucky to get to ring in the new year with the biggest blessing of the old year?

Thank you, 2011, for changing our lives forever.

Welcome, 2012. We can’t wait to find out what you have up your sleeve.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

