A wonderful Christmastime

01/02/2012 at 9:32 pm | Posted in family, Love, snap happy | 8 Comments
Tags: , ,

I struggled in the days leading up to Christmas. A new wave of anxiety, brought on by I don’t know what. I just couldn’t get my mind to the Christmas-y place I longed for it to be. Especially for my girls.

But after a few nights of early bedtime (Sophie STILL isn’t sleeping through), a hot bath or two, a glass of champagne (thanks to my friend Erin) and my fair share of chocolate, the vice-grip on my chest loosened up. Just in time for Christmas Eve. Thank goodness.

Snuggled on the couch with Marc that night for our yearly viewing of “It’s a Wonderful Life,” gifts wrapped and under the tree, the final items crossed off my list, it hit me. Peace. I swear I could feel it in my toes.

And so began a truly magical Christmas.

Behold the plate of cookies Lily made for Santa. She was especially ecstatic to see the crumbs on Christmas morning.

christmas cookiesAnd I quote: “He brought it!” “Santa brought it for me!” “Eeeeeeeeee!!!”

opening christmas giftsSophie woke after Lily, and when Marc brought her into the living room, all rosy cheeks and Fraggle Rock hair, she dive-bombed into Lily’s pile of gifts and wrapping paper. A total free-for-all.

opening christmas gifts

And she wanted to be wherever big sister was, doing whatever big sister was doing, every single minute.

Moments like this just stop me in my tracks. There is already so much love between these two. I know the fighting will come … but still … there will always be love.

Three cheers for the self-timer! I think this is my favorite family portrait so far.

I hope your holiday celebration was just lovely. Happy new year!

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Looks like a magical day. Happy New Year to you and the family, Suzanne! = )

  2. It’s a beautiful family portrait!

    I’m glad the anxiety let up & you were able to enjoy Christmas with your two beautiful girls!

  3. Fraggle Rock hair. Best. Description. Ever. I love it.

    Glad you all had a Merry Christmas!

  4. Love the family photo! And we have the same Pottery Barn stocking for Pippi 🙂

    • Yes! I bought those stockings for Lily’s first Christmas in 2008 and was lucky enough to find one for Sophie this year on Ebay. Hope you had a wonderful holiday!

  5. That is a GREAT family photo!

  6. Suzanne, what great photos of a wonderful Christmas. I am so happy that the Peace of the season reached you in time to enjoy every minute of Christmas eve and morning !! Wait until Sophie is 2 and then the hair pulling will literally begin between the sisters….:) Of course, your Mom and I were PERFECT and never fought…….HA

  7. Love the idea of a timer! I have no idea why I never thought of that for my own family, particularly since I even have a wireless shutter remote! Looks like a very merry Christmas.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

