Happiness is: Olivia's princess pledge

01/15/2012 at 10:27 pm | Posted in Happiness is | 6 Comments
Tags: , , ,

So, it’s happening.

The princess-ification of my almost-four-year-old daughter.

We don’t know how or when or where she tuned into the phenomenon, but it’s in full effect. She doesn’t actually own much princess stuff. Our only indulgences so far have been a miniature Ariel doll (a potty-training reward) Ariel undies (her choosing, along with Dora the Explorer) and pink sparkly Disney Princess “big girl” toothpaste (a treat for her first visit to the dentist).

But she talks about princesses all the time, and tonight in the bath she told me she wanted to be a princess when she grows up. She changed her mind from dentist. When I suggested that she could be a princess dentist, she was not having it.

Her favorite book right now is Olivia the Princess. I LOVE Olivia. She’s creative, adventurous, brave, smart and funny. I love that Lily loves her. And Olivia as princess is pretty awesome — she rides the royal pony, eats a tray of cupcakes and slides down the royal banister.

My favorite part of the book is Olivia’s princess pledge, which Lily knows word for word.

Makes me smile every time:

“A princess promises to be pretty, peppy, smell nice, sparkle a lot, sing happy songs very loudly, and never, ever be mean.”

This is the kind of princess-ing I can get behind.

P.S. I just snuck into Lily’s room to fetch this book in the dark because I couldn’t find the pledge online and I don’t know all the words yet. Don’t tell.

 

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I hear you on worrying about princessification – I have several girlfriends in the same boat. That said, even my nephew Liam is having a princess phase right now. The highest compliment he can bestow on anyone is “princess,” all genders included. So hopefully they’ll both move on to wizards or geniuses next πŸ™‚

    • That does make me feel better — thanks, Maggie! Now that I think of it, one of Lily’s best boy friends loves to put on fairy wings with her when he comes over to play. Here’s to future wizards and geniuses. πŸ™‚

  2. My daughter is 2 and she LOVES Olivia. And I have to agree with you. Olivia is so sassy and independent and creative. She’s a great princess role model. Love that Princess Pledge! BTW I’m reading a book called ‘Cinderella Ate My Daughter’ that deals with the princessification. It’s definitely worth checking out since you have two little girls.

    • Ooh — thanks for the book recommendation! Will definitely check it out.

  3. Ah, welcome to princess-ville. You’ll learn to enjoy it. We own pretty much every princess movie, book and toy known to man. I keep thinking that K is working her way out of that phase but she keeps clinging to it. And really, i don’t want her to lose it because that means she’ll be moving more into “big girl” world. (shudder).

    • You’re right. I want Lily to stay little forever. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

