Happiness is: a fitness goal

01/18/2012 at 3:20 pm | Posted in Happiness is | 37 Comments
Tags:

Cooper River Bridge Run

You guys! I’m doing this.

Well, I’m walking it. Or walk-running it, if the planets align and my sports bra holds up. But it still counts. I’ve never walked six miles in a row. Up and down a huge bridge. In one of my favorite cities.

I’m beyond excited.

Also: a secret. Marc and I have embarked on a healthy eating and exercise regimen, and I’ve already lost eight pounds! He’s lost nearly 20, which is simply amazing. For me, having a fitness goal like the Bridge Run sure does help. So does laying off the sweet tea and cupcakes.

I’ll keep you posted on my “training” (i.e. stroller-hiking through our hilly neighborhood). And, of course, I’ll need your help along the way, especially from you wunder-people who participate in races like this all the time.

Special thanks to the Deputy for helping me realize that I can actually do this. And for already giving me a ton of good advice (carry Kleenex, break in new shoes early). She is a veteran bridge runner, and I can’t wait to experience this with her … from a few miles back.

37 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. O girl! SAS is perfect training. It is hilly as can be out here. P.S. the park under that bridge rocks my face off. We played there on Sunday.

    • Yes! My goal on our walks at SAS is to keep up with the pregnant lady. 🙂 Can’t wait.

  2. Oh yes, Kleenex! My nose runs like there is no tomorrow when I am exercising. I have no idea why. You can do it!!!

    • Thanks, friend! Can’t wait to see y’all this weekend.

  3. This is awesome! Good luck in your training!

    • Thank you!! You’re always so supportive, Megan!

  4. This is fantastic! Having a set goal – with an immoveable end date – is such great motivation!

    • Yes! Once I registered, there was no turning back!!

  5. 8 pounds?? Holy shiz, girl, that’s awesome! This race sounds spectacular. Now that it’s winter my outdoor running has come to a screeching halt, but I’ll have to get out and signed up for some more races come spring, too. Good luck to you!!

    • Why thank you! I’ve got a long way to go, but shedding these first pounds sure does feel good. BTW you helped inspire me to get in shape, so another big THANK YOU. 🙂

  6. HOORAY! I’ve been wanting to ask if you did indeed start back up with health and fitness goals January 1, but also didn’t want to bug you or make you feel bad if you hadn’t. 8 pounds is AWESOME! And you CAN DEFINITELY do the 10k. So so so happy for you, way to go lady!

    • Thanks so much, Ashley! You’re such an awesome cheerleader. I need all the help I can get!

  7. You can do it! What a great goal! I LOVE running across bridges. 🙂

    I’ll be rooting for you and your sports bra to hang in there! 😉

    • Thanks, lady!!

  8. you’re going to love it! congrats on losing weight and setting some exercise goals!

    • Thanks! And congrats to you too … I saw your FB post about weight loss. Awesome!

  9. Hey Sue!

    I’m glad to hear you guys are still doing this! Lydia and I have signed up as well. I know I won’t finish it as fast as I did the first time, but I’m going to try to get my time at least relatively close. The last time I ran the bridge run it was over the old bridge, so I’m looking forward to crossing the new one!

    We’ll have catch up after the race and celebrate together!

    Catherine

    • Yay Suzanne!
      I can’t wait to do this, and I hope we can meet up at some point in Charleston. I think I hear a celebratory beer calling our names. Congrats on your fitness goals! That is awesome 🙂

      • I can’t wait either! We are DEFINITELY going to meet up for that celebratory beer. xo!

    • We are definitely getting together down there to celebrate! I’ve heard it’s chaos, but we’ll make it happen. Is Chad coming along? Marc will be there, but he’s not running. Maybe they could catch up while the race is happening …

  10. All around awesome!
    I am a 34DD runner so if you need advice on running bras, I am your girl! The right running bra makes all the difference.

    • Thanks, lady! I do have questions about jog bras … which brand do you like best? And how do you know if it’s *really* fitting correctly?

  11. I am dying of jealousy. DYING. I didn’t do it while I was there in college and I’ve always regretted it – although the “bridge” in those days was a terrifying wreck I could barely look at. I will be with you in spirit!

    • Didn’t realize you went to school in the south! If you EVER come visit this way, you’d better let me know. 🙂

  12. If you’ve cut out sweet tea and you’re missing it, start trying to ween yourself onto unsweetened tea. As a crazy sweet tea drinker for many years, a couple years ago, I suddenly realized that I was literally spooning sugar into my mouth. I switched over to unsweet, and I haven’t gone back! I don’t even like sweet tea anymore!!! I converted my entire family too!
    PS. I just started reading your blog and I love it. I have been trying to get regular on my blog and yours really inspires me to keep trying!

    • Such a good idea. I’ve been mainlining diet coke, but unsweetened tea is so much better for me. Will give it a shot — thanks for the encouragement! And thanks so much for your kind words about my blog. Glad to have you here!

  13. Wow! So proud of you!!! I love that you’ve embarked on healthy eating with your husband. That always makes it so much easier. But don’t you hate how much faster they can lose it?

    Good luck on your bridge adventure. I can’t wait to hear about it!

    • Thanks so much!! I’m blown away by everyone’s support. And, yes, I totally agree … I can’t believe how fast Marc is losing the weight … trying to keep pace! 😛

  14. Hi. I am also working my way up to running this spring. Caitlyn at healthytippingpoint.com has great tips and motivation for running a 5K and 10K, you should check her out!

    • Ooh — thanks so much for the tip! I need all the help I can get. 🙂

  15. i swoon. have done this in the past, it’s so much fun!

    • Everyone tells me how awesome it is. I can’t wait! Are you running it again this year?

      • not this year, waited too long to get a hotel room and they are outrageous now! yummy food – Harmony Grill. I blogged about it here: http://gritgooberandgrace.blogspot.com/2011/04/charleston.html
        Are you taking your little ones along? If so, take some cute dresses and your camera…plenty of photo ops.

      • Ooh — thanks for the food tip! Clicking over to your post now …

  16. […] my phone on one of our chilly walks last weekend. She and Lily are my training partners for the Bridge Run. Lily thinks it’s funny that I can’t keep up our conversation when I’m hoofing it […]

  17. You’re awesome sis…and that beautiful bod of yours! It’s going to be a fun time. It’s pretty amazing to witness and I can only imagine it’s a gazillion times better to actually participate. Have fun!

  18. We will definitely have a figure friendly meal when you and Marc come over. Kenne and I are on a weight loss mission as well!! I too have dropped 9 pounds….many, many more to go though!!! I think I can, I think I can, I think I can…..


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

