In which the Internet strikes today. Except me.

01/18/2012 at 10:37 am | Posted in Bloggy, PPD | 5 Comments
Tags: , ,

I’m supposed to black out my website today.

As a blogger, it’s my duty to protest SOPA and PIPA. (Don’t know what I’m talking about? Read here.)

Of course I hope the government can find a way to stop Internet piracy, but I don’t think these bills are the answer. I certainly don’t want my blog censored, or those sites that I count on reading on the daily. I want unlimited access to news and Facebook updates and Twitter and photos of celebrities doing silly things. And videos like this one. Oh, the awesome.

But if I black out today, there’s a very good chance I’ll push the wrong button and send pretty*swell into oblivion. And more importantly, my blog is here for new moms. Search terms like “baby blues not stopping” and “intrusive thoughts after baby” bring women to my website nearly every day.

I would never, ever want someone looking for help to land on a black screen.

So, I’m keeping the lights on today. And I’ll be back later with the latest installment of Happiness 365.

Because we all need a little happy every day, right?

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m glad you’re still here. 🙂

    • Thanks, Gina! You just made my day.

  2. My “lights” are still on too. A blog I follow had a great idea to post advice today to demonstrate the kind of information that would likely disappear if SOPA passes, so I posted my advice.

    • Love that idea! And the very last lines of your post today crack me up.

  3. I hear you – I worried I’d black out my site permanently too, so I just did the banners up in the corners for the day.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

