Happiness is: a reprieve

01/30/2012 at 9:53 pm | Posted in Happiness is | 4 Comments

Today was hard. Yesterday was hard, too. And last night was a flashback to the newborn days.

Each of the girls was awake at least once an hour, sometimes both at the same time. So Marc and I bounced like pinballs to and from and between their rooms, landing on our respective sides of the bed for a blessed 30 or 45 minutes of sleep until the next cry rang out.

Lily was wracked with coughing fits, and Sophie (poor Sophie!) is battling an ear infection and a virus at the same time. Her fever spiked on Sunday and didn’t come down all night. She was so sick at one point that she had the shakes. Scared me to death.

I got through this day with one eye open.

Sophie wanted to be held all day, and Lily needed lots of attention. Pulled in a million different directions is something I’m used to. But it’s different — taking a toll on my heart, too — when they’re sick.

So when Sophie finally relented to napping in her crib this afternoon, Lily and I sprawled out on the living room floor. We folded laundry and watched my favorite cooking show.

This little moment in time erased all of the hard stuff. Just like that.

It still amazes me how that happens.

One of the most awesome gifts of parenthood.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. The flu bug is everywhere…Bobby has even been down…but having little ones ill is so hard for parents. I love the living room scene.
    Take care, dear. Much love, nana

  2. I can’t even imagine havnig 2 babes sick.
    one is more than enough.

  3. Awww, so sorry to hear! I hope everyone’s feeling better soon.

  4. I love Bella napping counter to Lily in that last pic!

    You are an awesome mom! Keep it up 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

