Self-portrait challenge

02/09/2012 at 1:22 pm | Posted in Everything else | 16 Comments

There it is. My first self-portrait without a child also in the frame. In a shirt with who-knows-what stains on the sleeve. And no makeup. Exactly how I look right this minute. (Although I did spruce it up with the Pioneer Woman’s black-and-white Photoshop action. Love her action sets).

So, why did I post a picture of myself? Besides to show off my unwashed hair and tired eyes?

I came across Chelsey’s photo challenge earlier this week and it made me think. I focus so much of this space on my family and cute Etsy stuff and good food that I hardly ever show myself. Like, really show myself. As more than the arm carrying this or that child or the woman behind the camera.

So I’m stepping into unfamiliar territory. And I’m excited about it.

Here’s a little bit more about me:

Obsessing over … Calories! I seriously can’t stop counting them. Not in a bad way. It’s a fun challenge every day to stay near my goal. And I can’t even begin to describe the feeling of sliding into clothes that haven’t fit in months or walking a couple of miles without getting winded.

Working on … Two big conferences and a bunch of other projects at work. Sophie’s baby book. Decorating the nursery. My home. Always working on my home.

Thinking about … The fact that Lily turned four this week. When is Sophie going to cut a tooth? The Bridge Run. Healthy recipes.

Anticipating … The Bridge Run. A big wedding in May. Sophie’s Baptism. The beach.

Listening to … The Bon Iver Pandora station, to see what all the fuss is about. Finding that I like the other featured artists better.

Eating … Whole foods, like eggs, apples, bananas, greens (lots of greens), whole wheat bread, brown rice, fish, chicken. And not missing the junk too much anymore.

Wishing … That I could stop worrying so much, even just for a moment.

16 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. What a cool post! And I think your picture is beautiful. 🙂 I watched Bon Iver on SNL last weekend, and I just don’t get the hype. I couldn’t understand anything he said, and all their songs sounded the same. But maybe that’s just me.

    • Totally *not* just you! I like some of their stuff, but overall, not blown away. Thanks for your kind words, too. 🙂

  2. Give me some of your courage, please. Posing myself in front of the camera is so not something I am comfortable with. If I did, that would be a heavily edited photo. Many kudos to you for only running the B&W action on it! You look beautiful.

    • You can totally do it. For the record, I was nowhere near ready to look at myself this way at 6 months postpartum. Take your time, lady. You are amazing.

  3. Love this post. You look beautiful!

    • Thanks, Kristen! So nice of you to say … especially when I feel far from it most days. 🙂

  4. Lookin’ good girl!!! Keep it up! (except the worrying…..stop that!)

    Love you!

    • I’m trying! 🙂 Your brother definitely helps the cause. 🙂

  5. I love this! You look great and I love your earrings!

    I’m really trying to eat healthier right now too, but as I’m still BFing I’m not counting calories and I’m definitely hungry…especially mid-afternoon. Any healthy snack suggestions? I’ve gotta stop eating a bowl of sugary cereal at 3pm everyday!

    • I can’t live without snacks! You’re smart not to count calories…nursing both my babies always made me so HUNGRY. Hmmmm … my favorite snacks right now are: apples with peanut butter, greek yogurt, a small handful of trail mix, toasted whole wheat english muffin with peanut butter and sliced banana, and if you’re extra hungry, it’s really easy to scramble an egg in a little ramekin and pop it into the microwave for about 45 seconds. The egg pops out in the perfect circle shape to plop on an english muffin. Oh, and I also love these new Skinny Cow snacks called “dreamy clusters” … the dark chocolate one is my favorite. Good luck, mama!

  6. You look beautiful Suzanne! You are an inspiration to all of us!

    • Aw, thanks! I blush.

  7. You are beautiful! But even this awesome photo doesn’t capture the immense beauty inside of you that you share with family and friends….You are love, generosity and compassion personified.

  8. you look great, what a great idea, and us moms do need to remember to insert ourselves in our blogs every now and then 😉 love this post…

  9. Gorgeous Sis. Nothing more beautiful to me than somebody being real.

  10. […] I posted the picture I read a friend of mine’s blog, Pretty Swell.  She too had posted her self portrait and it made me rethink about the picture I had just […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

