Happiness is: a fro-yo Friday night

02/17/2012 at 10:04 pm | Posted in Happiness is | 2 Comments

frozen yogurt

This week has been rough.

On Tuesday morning Sophie woke with a runny nose and cough. By Wednesday, she was diagnosed with a double ear infection. And today? RSV.

Her breathing is wheezy, and you can see how she’s compensating by using her belly. Her doctor says that she’s on the good end of the not-breathing-well scale, but all this still scares the crap out of me. I can handle the vomit, the ear infections, the sleepless nights, the diarrhea in her hair. But when she can’t breathe well? My heart lodges up in my throat. I don’t care how minor the doctor tries to convince me it is. Doesn’t he know that I creep into both of my daughters’ rooms every single night to listen to them breathe and will probably still be doing so when they’re teenagers?

So finding happiness lately hasn’t been easy. Sophie has had more sick than healthy days this winter, and Lily picks up just enough of the crud to keep us on our toes. I want my babies to get well and stay well. For more than three days.

But these happiness posts are an exercise in gratitude, an acknowledgement that no matter how bad a day I’ve had, there’s always something that can put a smile on my face. Happiness is simple. You just have to keep your eyes open, right?

Today, my happiness came in the form of a cup of frozen yogurt with a pink spoon. Three flavors, because I can never choose just one (red velvet, peanut butter and cookies-and-cream FTW).

Hanging with Marc on the couch with dessert in hand and a loaded DVR is pretty much perfection.

Especially after a week like this one.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hope everyone is better soon! That first winter with kid #2 is a rough one because everyone’s constantly sick. It does get better…promise! Keep enjoying those calm moments of happiness.

  2. Sorry to hear about sophie. Sounds similar to what we went through with Lila. Let me know if there is anything I can do. Missed you last night.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

