Feels like me

03/16/2012 at 3:51 pm | Posted in Bloggy, me | 7 Comments

I’ve only been blogging for two and a half years, but I think I’ve had about 600 different designs. I’ve worked with amazingly talented artists (like Don Naylor, who is as awesome a person as he is a designer), and I’ve loved all the different looks.

But after a few months of one design, I start to get twitchy.

I want to change stuff, and I can’t. And I don’t like being locked in. You may have noticed lately that little elements here and there (and big ones, like my header) disappear on occasion. I always panic when this happens (dang WordPress), and I have no idea how to remedy the situation. It’s frustrating.

See also: Type-A Virgo. I like to be in control.

I’ve been playing with colors and fonts and images for a while now. I’m not an artist, but I figured it wouldn’t hurt to give it a shot.

So it’s back to basics for pretty swell.

It’s funny. I started this site in 2009 with a very simple, clean, two-column format. After trying every other configuration under the sun (except the fancy ones that I can’t afford), here I am again.

Back to white space. Back to two columns. Back to me.

I finally feel comfortable in my blog skin. Is that gross? Sorry.

And when I get a hankering to change things up (oh, like next week), I can.

This feels like me. Finally.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Love it! Very fresh and simple…a great backdrop for your beautiful photographs and lively posts. Well done sis!

  2. It looks fantastic, I love the simplicity. I’m constantly playing with my design as well. I’m in the mood to change it up yet again, just have to find the time to do it!

  3. It’s perfect!

  4. Absolutely beautiful! Awesome way to start off spring! 🙂

  5. looks great!

  6. I love it!

  7. I love it! I really need to do a blog redesign, but just haven’t gotten around to actually getting it done…


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

