Life according to Lily

03/27/2012 at 8:31 am | Posted in Small Fry | 8 Comments
Tags: , ,

The older she gets, the more gems spew forth from her mouth. I try to write them down on the fly.

This kid is funny. And smart. And pretty darn insightful …

On love:

“Mommy, you’re my best heart.”

“I love Sophie. She’s just a little muffin.”

On fashion:

“I like that outfit, Mommy. You look like Cinderella!”

On personal hygiene:

(After brushing her teeth) “Do you want to smell my deep, deep breath?”

On the passage of time:

“A long, long time ago when I was three …” (she turned four last month)

“Maybe when I’m older, like five or six or twenty …”

Phrases I just can’t bring myself to correct:

“brefkiss” (breakfast)

“permendous” (her very own super-awesome adjective)

“It’s your march, get set, go!”

“Row, row, row your boat gently down the streen. Merrily, merrily, merrily, merrily, like a but a streen …”

“Look Mommy! I’m full of hands today!” (wearing one baby doll and pushing another in her little pink stroller)

And my all-time favorite:

“That’s a good idea, Mommy. You’re a genius!”

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. My baby (now all grown up) referred to elephant as “elf-a-tee” and telephone as “telf-a-tee.” Just seems like yesterday! 🙂

  2. Love this! It inspires me to organize all of our Collin-isms 🙂
    –“When I’m 4, maybe I’ll be able to handle this.” (on anything too heavy for him to pick up)
    –He says that things are “shark” instead of sharp. 🙂

  3. Lila says, “that’s your thought or that’ s my thought” instead of ‘fault’ and “I want my hair blond” instead of “down.” Adding an “es” to every word to make it plural “ghostses” “washclothses.” “Mommy, you’re my best friend.” Lately, there have been a lot of “secrets” being told by whispering in ears and telling me something and adding “tell Daddy I said that.”

  4. I’m thinking of starting the Small Fry Fan Club. I just love your stories of her.

  5. Love it! Do you have a special book you write these down in? If so, please share where you got it. I’ve been thinking of buying something like that for the Connorisms. My favorite mispronounced word….. when playing baseball you have to “ounce” the players instead of “announce”

  6. One of my favorites from Ian is when he tells me he is “happy at me”. I guess he figures if you can be mad at someone you can be happy at them too. Makes sense.

    Lasagna is Basagna. Lollipop is Lilypop. I don’t correct his mispronunciation either. I love it too much.

  7. OMG those had me laughing, especially her phrases…”premendous” – sounds like a fine word to me!

  8. Oh my goodness, I’m laughing out loud at my desk at work (not good, since I’m supposed to be editing)! My favorite one is the “deep, deep breath” comment. So cute! I hope you do more of these posts. Such a great way to capture Lily’s spirit.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

