Two days and counting

03/29/2012 at 12:58 pm | Posted in me | 15 Comments
Tags:

Twenty-four hours from now, I’ll be in the car on my way to Charleston for the Cooper River Bridge Run.

I’m so excited I think I might pee my pants.

The notion of me running any further than the distance between the couch and the fridge used to be unthinkable. I am not a runner. I can swim and swim and swim. But running makes my chest hurt and my butt jiggle and my knees ache. And I always suck wind.

But then a few weeks ago on one of my walks, I thought to myself, this is a nice flat stretch of sidewalk I think I’ll jog it. And it didn’t kill me. Of course it was only three-tenths of a mile, but still. Baby steps, right?

A few days later, I jogged the whole block. Then I turned the corner and kept jogging. Ever so gradually, each week, adding on more distance.

This week, I jogged about three miles. THREE MILES, y’all. Unthinkable.

Dr. Google taught how to control my breathing, improve my posture and train my hibernating muscles on how to function properly. I asked runner friends for advice, and they came through big time.

So in just two days, I’m going to attempt to run part (half?) of the Bridge Run. I’ll slow to a walk if it hurts too badly. And I’ll definitely be walking up the bridge (and stopping to take photos, if I can manage it without causing a pile-up).

But I’m going to try. And I’m really excited about it.

Who would have thought?

15 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. OK –if you can run 3 miles, you can run the whole thing. The adrenaline will carry you through!! Just go slow and take it easy. I’m so glad you are doing this run!! I think this is our 9th year doing it and I can’t think of a better way to spend a Spring morning. I am definitely going to walk and I don’t want to slow you down so hopefully we can chat on our cells and meet up at the finish line! I will be the one walking with a bag full of saltines, granola bars and water πŸ™‚ Good luck Suzanne!! GET OVER IT! πŸ™‚

    • Wow — 9 years! I had no idea! That’s awesome. And I might hit you up for a snack on the course. πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to see you tomorrow!!

  2. Good luck! I’m sure it is going to be awesome – can’t wait to see a post all about it!

    • Thanks, Kelly! Wish we’d had more of a chance to talk at the last bloggy dinner. Next time, I hope!

  3. Oh, you are going to have SUCH a good time. I’m dying of jealousy. Take tons of pictures! Good luck!

    • Thanks!! Can’t wait just to be in Charleston. And I definitely anticipate a photo bomb to drop on this blog next week. πŸ™‚

  4. I just caught up on several of your recent posts, and wanted to say good luck in your race. I’m proud of you for doing it! I am also not a natural runner so I’m very impressed.

    So just remember, β€œIt’s your march, get set, go!”

    • Yes! That little Lily-ism will start me off of the right foot, indeed. πŸ™‚

  5. 3 miles…you have covered some ground since St. Patty’s Day! You will do great tomorrow!

    • I’m gonna try! We’ll see what happens … you might have to pick me up off the finish line. πŸ™‚

  6. Good luck this weekend!!! You’ll do great!

    • Thanks, lady! Really appreciate your encouragement!

  7. Good luck! That sounds like such a cool race!

    • Thanks Jocelyn! I’m getting pumped … it’s going to be hard to sit still in the car all the way to Charleston. πŸ™‚

  8. YOU ARE GOING TO ROCK IT!!~! What an incredible feat! We all will be here rooting you on!!~! Cheers to you for even attempting this marathon (something I could never fathom at this point, however, feel I can someday just reading your progress), and the drive to run through that finish line! =D You Go Girl!!!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

