Eating healthy: chicken quesadillas

04/04/2012 at 10:37 am | Posted in mangia!, weight loss | 2 Comments
Tags: , , ,

I can’t get enough Mexican food. So when we changed our lifestyle, I thought for sure I’d have to bid a teary farewell to my beloved burritos. I was wrong! Thank goodness.

There are plenty of healthy options out there, and cooking at home is the easiest way to avoid high-calorie temptations (hello basket of chips and half-gallon margarita).

Here’s my new favorite quesadilla recipe, adapted from Fix It and Enjoy It (I swear Amazon isn’t paying me to promote this book; I just LOVE it.)

Gather:
1 lb. ground turkey (we used shredded chicken instead)
4 tsp. olive oil
1 large onion, chopped
1 red bell pepper, chopped
4 cloves garlic, chopped
1 tsp. ground cumin
1 tsp. chili powder
1 tsp. dried oregano
15 1/2-oz can kidney or black beans, drained and rinsed
8 whole wheat flour tortillas
1/2 cup grated low-fat cheddar cheese

Cook:
1. Brown ground turkey with olive oil and onion in large skillet.
2. Add red pepper, garlic and all spices. Cook until vegetables are just tender.
3. Stir in tomato sauce and beans. Heat through.
4. Place tortillas on greased cookie sheets (we use canola oil spray). Spoon turkey mixture evenly onto tortillas (approximately 1/4 cup per tortilla).
5. Top each with 1 Tbsp. grated cheese. (I put the cheese inside because I like it melty.)
6. Bake, uncovered, at 400 degrees for 15 minutes. Top with lettuce, salsa, cilantro, low-fat sour cream.

Per serving (one tortilla): 358 calories, 25g protein, 40g carbohydrates, 11g fat.

(P.S. My Bridge Run post is coming soon! I’m waiting on photos. They’re killing meeeeee …)

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. OMG, this just looks and sounds amazing! I’m afraid I am going to have to bookmark this. πŸ™‚ Thank you! (And thank YOU, Cyndi/convertiblelife for sharing this on Twitter!)

    • So glad you stopped by! Hope you enjoy the recipe … it hardly tastes healthy. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

