And then I cracked

04/05/2012 at 4:16 pm | Posted in Happiness is | 5 Comments

I had such good intentions.

Happiness 365 was supposed to be a daily exercise in gratitude. The fulfillment of a New Year’s resolution to be more mindful. Little doses of happiness, from my kids’ sweet faces to a video that gave me goosebumps, made me smile each time I posted them.

But I just couldn’t keep up.

And I often found myself floundering for something publish-able. So much of what brings me joy each day is difficult to put into words or photos. It’s often a fleeting moment with someone I love, or the feeling of sun on my face. And how do you create a whole blog post out of that, without really annoying people?

Plus, life and all its stresses — parenting, work, volunteer commitments, travel, home-making, blogging, exercise — is starting to swallow me up. Cutting out the extras, like I don’t know, a 365 challenge, is one of the keys to happiness apparently. Oh the irony.

This space is a love letter to my family, a creative outlet and a clearinghouse for stuff that inspires me. It’s a rare occasion that happiness isn’t present here, even in those posts about the challenges of motherhood, relationships, life.

So I hope you’ll bear with me as “Happiness 365” becomes “Happiness 243” or whatever may be.

And, as ever, I wish you happiness each and every day. It’s all around us, right?

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I TOTALLY understand this! I have been trying to do the monthly challenges on Instagram and totally skipped March. No judgement from me 🙂

  2. I SECOND THAT!!

  3. I’m pretty sure that breathing is the only thing that you can guarantee to do 365 days a year. I think Happiness 243 or whenever sounds good!

  4. Don’t know what happened there, but I SECOND THAT! =D With the daily “upkeep” of life and our unequivocal essential presence as women (caretaker, doctors, chefs, teacher, and any other hat we wear in life), I can’t see how anyone can keep a daily virtual blog while maintaining an active schedule in reality. =D We all love reading about your beautiful daughters, life adventures, and silly things that make us smile, and fully understand the demands of the modern women (or man to any reading out there). =D

    I am learning this myself and decided to marinate on a mantra I’d like to share with you:

    {Moderation is the silken string running through the pearl chain of all virtues.} | Joseph Hall

    I have to remind myself this one every day, but hey, isn’t it life? =D AWESOME POST ON YOUR MARATHON! YOU ROCKED IT! =D

  5. I have loved your Happiness 365 posts — it fits so well with all that research about daily gratitude journals changing your outlook on life. But I can totally relate to feeling pressured by yourself unnecessarily.

    Looking forward to more of your happiness whenever you care to share it!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

