Eating healthy: simple veggie sides

04/12/2012 at 2:43 pm | Posted in mangia!, weight loss | 4 Comments
Tags: , , ,

roasted brussels sprouts

Poor Brussels sprouts. They get such a bad rap. I’d been too chicken to try them until recently, and thank goodness I finally did because they are DELICIOUS. We just chop them in half, toss with a little olive oil, salt and fresh-ground pepper and roast them in a 350-degree oven until they’re tender on the inside. My favorite part are the crispy bits of outer leaf. Seriously yum.

I also just found this tasty looking recipe on the Pioneer Woman’s food blog. Can’t wait to try it.

MyFitnessPal says that a half-cup of roasted sprouts has about 80 calories.

tomato-cucumber salad

My other favorite veggie side is this simple summer salad. Marc makes it the best. Just chop up tomatoes and cucumbers and toss them with light Italian dressing and a bit of grated parmesan cheese. This dish will get even better as the veggies come into season. Can’t wait to buy fresh tomatoes at the farmers market. Hurry up, summer!

MyFitnessPal says this dish (1/2 cup) has about 40 calories.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yes! I love Brussels sprouts, too! Add a little balsamic vinegar to the olive oil you toss them in & it makes those outer leaves even better.

    I’m ready to get some fresh, local asparagus. We roast it up, like Brussels sprouts, with finely minced shallot, olive oil & coarse salt. The tips get a little crispy…yum!

    • Ooh — love these ideas! I keep over-cooking our asparagus and it gets mushy. Gonna try your technique!

  2. Yum! I love all of these things! One thing I love is frozen asparagus. You can get it in the steam in bags and they steam perfectly! I tend to overcook them too, so even though they aren’t officially fresh, they end up better this way 😉

  3. […] Those blueberries were the best I’d ever tasted. The strawberries were overripe because of the wonky weather we’ve been having lately, so I rinsed, cut and bagged them to use for smoothies. The cucumber and some tomatoes were chopped up that night for one of my favorite little salads. […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

