Eating healthy: grilled chicken salad

04/23/2012 at 7:44 pm | Posted in mangia!, weight loss | 6 Comments
Tags: ,

grilled chicken salad

I swear there is chicken on that salad. It’s buried in the middle. See it?

It’s not just croutons and egg white. Although those are two of my favorite parts of this salad. Here’s what else is on it: green leaf lettuce, broccoli, shredded carrot, tomato, raisins and shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese. And grilled chicken! Of course!

My favorite dressing with this salad is Ken’s light honey mustard. I try to use exactly 2 TBS, which is a serving. I’ve been surprised just how far that little bit of dressing can go.

The calorie count on this salad varies, depending on the quantity of each ingredient. But it usually comes in around 400. And it stuffs me full.

P.S. I’m officially down 26 pounds and just about to crack a new “decade” on the scale that I haven’t seen since I can’t remember when. And I don’t feel deprived or starved. Never imagined this was possible. Ever.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Whoa!! 26pounds!! Way to go!!!

  2. I LOVE all of your healthy eating posts. Jon is down 20 lbs since the start of the year and I’m just now getting my butt in gear. Such great recipe ideas!

  3. Wow that’s incredible, do you count all your daily calories? Love to hear/read more….

  4. Congratulations! That is awesome and you look great. I meant to tell you that when I ran into you at the kids school. You have such a healthy attitude about being healthy, not dieting.

  5. Congratulations on the 26 pounds! That’s great! You looked great at the Busy Bee 🙂 That salad looks so good too. I’m a big fan of salad and am working back to eating it every day after a crazy few months. I use red wine vinegar on my salad. It has 2 calories per serving, so I can use as much as I need.

  6. that’s so awesome! i’m having the hardest time getting my butt in gear to do anything! i mean, i’ve definitely dropped the baby weight (& a little more!), but there’s probably about 15 pounds that can still go. have. to. get. motivated. and you’re helping!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

