On Mother's Day

05/13/2012 at 8:09 pm | Posted in me | 4 Comments

Things I’ve learned this week:

My skin isn’t as thick as I’d hoped it would be by now, 36 years into this life.

I will do anything to protect my children and their rights. Of course I’ve always felt this way, but now it’s visceral.

Rainbow cake makes rainbow poop. You’re welcome.

Things I’ve known but that became even truer this week:

The profound depth of my gratitude for my parents. They raised me to have an open mind and a kind heart, and I will be forever grateful for that.

My sister kicks butt. And gives amazing pep talks.

Marc is a kind, kind man with a huge heart. I’m a lucky girl.

My love for my daughters is bigger than even I can wrap my brain around.

I can’t imagine not being their mother.

I’m so incredibly blessed.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That picture of you and your girls is fantastic. You need to frame that one.

    In my mind, being thin-skinned is part of what makes us able to feel empathy for others. Don’t lose that part of yourself. It’s a wonderful trait to have.

    And P.S., I did not know that about rainbow cake. Thank you for the warning.

  2. Happy Mother’s Day Suzanne!
    PS–Rainbow ice cream does the same thing 🙂

  3. beautiful. you are three peas in a pod 🙂

  4. I hope everything is okay, happy belated mother’s day!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

