Happiness is: tomatoes and basil

05/31/2012 at 8:24 am | Posted in Happiness is | 6 Comments
Tags:

tomatoes and basil

Can you just smell this picture?

Oh basil. You are the essence of summer. Along with sunscreen, burning charcoal and salt air.

We’re growing our own little basil plant from seed, so while we wait patiently for our own harvest, I’m buying it from the market. I tossed the batch above with some chopped cherry tomato, balsamic viniagrette and cooked whole-wheat pasta. It made the perfect little salad. I also love to make insalate caprese, bruschetta and pesto. Yum, yum and yum.

How do you like to cook with basil? Any recipes to share? (pretty please)

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ooh, fresh basil is one of my favorites too! I love it on homemade pizza. Just make sure you add it to the last five minutes of baking so you don’t burn it. You just want a good wilt. I also make a basil infused olive oil that is absolutely the best on a summer salad or on grilled seafood as a marinade.

    • That infused olive oil sounds delicious! How do you make it? And, thanks for the pizza tip about adding basil at the end. A total “duh” moment for me. 🙂

      • You take and bruise the basil….sort of mottle it like you would mint for a mojito. Pack all that into a container. Important to use some sort of glass…I use a mason jar. Then, take enough olive oil to fill your container and put it in a pot on the stove. Heat up the oil, but don’t let it bubble or boil. You’ll know it is hot enough when it seems to thin out a little. After that, pour it over the basil in the mason jar. Cover and let it sit for a week out of direct sunlight. Once the week is up, strain out all of the basil so it won’t spoil, and you are good to go! You can store it at room temp.

        I’ve also added garlic to the basil infusion before, which is really good…you just have to keep it in the frig after straining because garlic can carry botulism if it sits out and goes bad.

        This infusion method works with pretty much any herb. I make a cilantro one that is to die for on salmon.

      • Thanks, Sarah! I’m going to give it a shot this weekend. Sounds so delicious!

  2. Pesto and caprese salad are my go-tos — I hope you get some more suggestions so I can steal them.

  3. […] Remember when I went basil-bonkers at the farmers market? […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

