The ballerina and the bug

06/05/2012 at 1:45 pm | Posted in Small Fry, snap happy | 7 Comments

Watching your child up on a stage — performing a dance routine, staring out into the audience, picking her nose, whatever — has got to be one of the most exhilarating feelings ever.

I sat through Lily’s dance recital Saturday with a huge perma-grin and tears in my eyes. I didn’t ugly-cry like last year when postpartum hormones took over, but my heart did the same sort of bursting with pride.

Our little dancer was awesome. She had been working especially hard on her bow for the end of the recital, which she nailed. She and her classmates were called the “animal crackers,” and Lily danced with a little crab figurine next to a big cardboard soup-bowl prop. They finished the routine behind the soup bowl, bouncing their menagerie of animal “crackers” along the top. They forgot most all the steps, but it was simply spectacular.

We hollered for Lily at the end, but she didn’t hear us. Next year I’ll be louder.

Here’s our little family just after the show:

And Sophie waving hello:

After a celebratory lunch with family and friends (including a very special chocolate cupcake for the little ballerina), I thought it would be nice to take some more pictures of Lily in her costume at our house. She lasted, oh, about five seconds.

Behold the meltdown:

I probably should have stopped taking her picture, but I just couldn’t do it. She was just too hilarious. The squinty smile-grimace, the dramatic plunge to the ground. I could not stop snapping. Which further pissed her off (bad mommy).

Until she found a bug. And all was right with the world again.

A real smile! Finally!

And one more family shot it would be criminal not to share because just look at Sophie’s legs:

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ahhhh, chubby baby legs. I squeeze my daughter’s a little too often because I am already mourning their loss preemptively. It’s hard for me to even imagine her being old enough to be in a dance recital! Waaah!

  2. Oh my gosh, both your kids are just so so gorgeous. And it’s obvious where they get it from, pretty lady!

  3. That first shot of Lily is gorgeous! I also adore the family shots. Ian has preschool graduation later this month. I am totally going to have the ugly cry going on for that event.

  4. How very sweet. She looks so darling.

    I felt the same way at Landon’s first soccer game šŸ™‚

  5. The chubby legs, soooo cute!!

    I love the 7th picture you have on here, she looks like she is saying “Come on mom stop, no more!”

    Beautiful family šŸ™‚

  6. So so cute. This is making me want Ryann old enough for dance even more! I can’t wait. Good job Lily!

  7. Such a cute family picture!!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

