Eating healthy: farmers market chicken skillet

06/06/2012 at 10:19 am | Posted in mangia!, weight loss | 1 Comment
Tags: , , ,

chicken skillet recipe

Guess who bought too much basil at the farmers market?

I swear, it was just one bunch. But man. I think it multiplies while we sleep at night.

I found this recipe in my latest Food & Family magazine and gave it a shot. I’m not going to re-type it here because I’m lazy. And because the link will take you to printer-friendly versions. And because I’m lazy.

But I will tell you about the modifications I made:

>> added extra basil, because, well, we can’t eat it fast enough
>> used about half the cheese the recipe called for, and it was plenty
>> sauteed the veggies longer and added some Mrs. Dash to the skillet for extra flavor
>> used more chicken and veggies than pasta (so my plate had about a quarter-cup of pasta underneath a mountain of veggies and chicken)

With some fresh insalata caprese (tomato, mozzarella, basil, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, black pepper) on the side, this dinner was light and delicious. A perfect use for all that summer produce. And basil. Oh, the basil.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] made a couple of chicken dishes with it and tossed it with tomatoes on the side a few times. But then it started to go bad because, […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

