What I Wore (to work) Wednesday

06/13/2012 at 9:52 am | Posted in look good feel good | 8 Comments

tank and cardi ::: Old Navy
pants ::: Gap
necklace ::: Banana Republic clearance bin

Yup, that’s me taking a picture of myself in a public restroom. One that, at any moment, several readers of this blog (and plenty of other women who don’t read it) could walk into and bust me.

But I’m starting a little experiment. Lucky you!

Every week, I’m going to try to link up with Lindsey at the Pleated Poppy for What I Wore Wednesday. My friend Beth Anne, who is most certainly not afraid of photographing herself in public spaces, inspired me to jump in. She has a great sense of style and an even better sense of humor.

Why do this, you ask? Good question.

I don’t know if it’s the weight loss, or the fact that I’ve had two babies and am finally reclaiming my body, but I want to start taking better care of myself and putting more energy into my appearance.

I am as low-maintenance as they come. I don’t own hair products, and I only wear make-up on special occasions. Mostly because I don’t really know how to put it on, but that’s a post for another day. I have a bunch of cute clothes in my closet, but I have this habit of wearing the exact same pieces over and over again. I’m one of those people who sees something really cute in the store (usually Target or Old Navy), takes it home, hangs it up and NEVER WEARS IT.

I’m weird, I know.

As crazy as this sounds, especially because I write a blog, I don’t like to draw attention to myself. I’ve practiced a top-knot in the bathroom at home (thanks to Jess’s tutorial), but I continue to do the same things to my hair every single day. I own a bunch of cute accessories — H&M bangles, funky Anthropologie necklaces, pretty scarves — but I’d rather just smile at them in my closet than actually walk out the door wearing them. WEIRDO.

Sooooooo. Since the three days I work each week are my best opportunity to wear something other than sweats, I’m going to start documenting my outfits. I want to be braver about my fashion choices. I want to make more of an effort. Mostly, I want to feel better about myself.

And knowing that you guys are part of Operation: Look Good Feel Good really helps.

I love fashion. I’m a Vogue subscriber, and I seriously look at every single page, especially the crazy ads and anything that Grace Coddington styles. One of my favorite websites is What I Wore, and you guys know I love to link up with Mandy for Steppin’ Out. I don’t thrift (yet) and I’ll probably never wear a sock on my head, but I want to take more risks. Have a little more fun, especially with the pieces I already own.

So, here goes!

Yesterday (pictured above), I boldly wore a necklace that’s been hanging in my closet for years (this reminds me, I’ll have to show you guys the awesome jewelry hanger that Laura made me). And I tried not to match! On purpose!

Today, I’m wearing my new orange maxi skirt, which I bought for a wedding rehearsal dinner and never thought I’d wear to work. But it’s so comfy and pretty. And it’s like a blanket for my legs, which are usually freezing in the office A/C during the summer. Fashion and practicality? I’m onto something here.

tank ::: Target
skirt ::: Loft
necklace ::: Anthropologie (clearance closet — holler)

And here is what I usually do with my hair from the months of April to October. Someone needs to make special hair products for women who live in the South. Seriously.

pleated poppy

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Fun! I am going to like this feature. Both outfits are super cute!

    You do not want a picture of what I’m wearing today. Our office is 64 degrees right now, so on top of my fairly cute outfit I am wearing a blue hoodie I keep here for my workout classes and a big brown sweater coat that I share with one of my (male) colleagues! Whoever is coldest gets to wear it.

  2. Skinny Minnie! You look great 🙂

  3. Love both outfits! Seriously I HEAR YOU on the hair care products for those of us who live in swamps. I hate even HAVING hair in the summer.

    I’m also bad about accessorizing, I’ve been using Sundays as my dress-up day because that’s church and I know I need to look at least clean so I might as well put on a necklace or something.

  4. You are so gorgeous, it’s unbelievable.

    Also? SKINNY.

    & yes on the hair. The top knot is just getting to the point that I’m sure my coworkers are all DOES SHE EVEN OWN A HAIRBRUSH?!

  5. Ok first of all, you’re so skinny! And I don’t mean that in a holy-crap-go-eat-a-sandwich-way, but in a you-look-frickin-amazing!! way. I know you’ve been working hard to lose weight, and it has paid off a million times over. I had to squint to see you in the sideways picture. 😉

    But the style pics are awesome! I am super boring when it comes to my style, and my hair matches your April-October knot pretty much always, minus the part. So you’ve inspired me. 🙂 Let’s see if I can come up with anything fun with my new stash of pregnancy clothes (ugh, probably not, but who knows). I especially love the no-matching part. Your orange skirt and top of blues is beautiful!

  6. Love love love the style photos!
    I identify with so many of the things you’ve said. I buy cute things then do not wear them because I work from home.

  7. These colors look great on you! So glad you’re unearthing all your funky and eye-catching treasures…they’re such a fantastic example of how colorful and fun you are. Lookin’ good Slick!

  8. I’m 100% behind the idea of photos in bathrooms. 100%.
    And you look so lovely, it would be a travesty NOT to! I am in awe of your Clearance accessories skillz…


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

