Beachhhhhh

06/25/2012 at 9:28 pm | Posted in oh the places we go | 6 Comments

I always have the hardest time describing beach vacations without rambling.

Each little memory seems precious, from Sophie’s sandy bottom to Lily’s shriek when she discovered a hermit crab scuttling along in the shallow water. Not to mention outdoor showers, boat rides, a sleeping baby in my lap, sunset walks, ice cream on the pier, sun in my face, floating in the ocean, fried shrimp and sweet tea, a late-night walk with Marc and Bella, reading a whole book e-cover to e-cover, coming in from the heat, afternoon naps with my babies, fresh fish just off the boat, Lily’s seashell collection, the smell of sunscreen on sweet baby skin, my mother-in-law’s homemade pimento cheese. And on and on.

Every single minute was wonderful, even the mundane. But is there really such a thing as mundane at the beach?

So on the eve of my return to work, to the chaos of our weekday routine, I’m sad that vacation is over. But so happy (and so much richer) for the memories.

To keep this from being the longest photo post ever, I dumped my favorites into a slideshow. If you’d like to enlarge it, just click on the little arrow thingy in the bottom right corner (after you click play).

[ichc-flickr-slide width=”400″ height=”300″ username=”prettyswell” set_id=”72157630291114166″ player_r=”109615″]
6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Your pictures are just… awesome…

  2. Looks like a fabulous trip. Great pictures!!

  3. I loved every single photo. Just wonderful, Suzanne!

  4. I know exactly what you mean about the beach. It is our family happy place and we are going in a week. CAN NOT WAIT.

    I love how you captured all the little details.

  5. Sophie’s scrunchy face is the BEST!

  6. Great beach pictures! Pretty sure my favorite was Sophie’s bum in the air. And the girls sitting on the beach looking out into the ocean. We were at the beach last week too and loved every minute of it. I wish I could go back now!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

