Happiness is: peaches in the summertime

06/26/2012 at 1:10 pm | Posted in Happiness is | 4 Comments
Tags: , ,

Aren’t these so pretty?

The girls and I picked them out yesterday at the farmers market. It’s one of our favorite things to do. They love all the samples. And the cookie lady. I love supporting local farmers (and the prices, of course).

Lily “skips” (on one leg … it’s pretty awesome) down the aisles, pointing out each type of fruit and vegetable she knows. I always get her help picking out what we need, in hopes it’ll make a difference when she encounters the veggies on her plate that week at dinner. It seemed to work with green beans last night. Not holding my breath on the funky squash for tonight, though.

Peaches, to me, are the ultimate harbinger of summer. More so than watermelon or corn on the cob. Maybe it’s because they really don’t taste good any other time of the year, or because of the way the juice runs down your chin no matter how carefully you try to eat it. I don’t know. I just can’t get enough of them from June to August.

My new favorite breakfast is vanilla greek yogurt with peaches and a smattering of honey nut cheerios. I’m thinking of attempting a peach pie this summer, too. Emphasis on the word “attempt.”

What is your all-time favorite summer food? Any good peach recipes to share? I’m all ears.

p.s. Check out Sophie’s first impression of watermelon. Priceless.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. We got THE BEST engagement gift ever from my husband’s sister: an ice cream maker attachment for our stand mixer and the Ben and Jerry’s ice cream cookbook. Their peach ice cream recipe is to die for! If you don’t want to make it yourself, they currently have a peach ice cream in stores that is a limited run. Peach cobbler. DELISH.

    • Oh man. A Ben & Jerry’s cookbook? I’m in trouble. Thanks also for the peach cobbler flavor tip … will save my calories for that one!

  2. Here’s a recipe for the peach torte I made a couple of weekends ago (photo on Instagram & Facebook). It is my brother’s all-time favorite dessert. It was something that went around my hometown church, and my grandmother perfected it. It became her “go-to” summer dessert, and was in VERY high demand. It is by no means the healthiest out there, but it’s not too bad….

    Peach Torte
    1c. self-rising flour
    1 stick margarine
    1 c. chopped pecans
    1 8oz cream cheese
    1 c. confectioners’ sugar
    1 c. Cool Whip
    6 peaches sliced
    1 c. sugar + 2 T sugar
    3 T. cornstarch
    3 T. peach Jello mix (dry)
    1 c. water
    Vitamin C Tablet or Lemon Juice

    Cut peaches in slices. Mix either a crushed Vitamin C tablet with water or add a splash of lemon juice on peaches and toss so they won’t turn brown. Add 2T of sugar to coat, and refrigerate until time to add to the torte.

    Mix flour, margarine & pecans; put in 9×13 pan. Bake at 375 for 15 minutes. Cool.

    Combine cream cheese, confectioners’ sugar & Cool Whip. Mix well with mixer. Spread on cooled crust.

    Add peaches to top of crust.

    Make glaze by comgining sugar, cornstarch, Jello (don’t follow the box directions, just use the powder) and water. Cook until congealed (it should be thick enough to set-up the rest of the way in the refrigerator, cool 10 minutes, and pour over peaches.

    Refrigerate at least 3 hours prior to serving.

    Try not to consume all at once

    • Oh my gosh this looks AMAZING! I’m definitely going to try it out. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe! I hope I can do it justice. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

