It's not you. It's me.

06/28/2012 at 1:30 pm | Posted in me, weight loss | 13 Comments
Tags: , ,

Dear MyFitnessPal,

I think it’s time we take a break. We’ve been hot and heavy for SEVEN STRAIGHT MONTHS, but I just can’t take any more logging. Deconstructing of meals. Trying to figure out fractions, ounces, grams.

It’s not you. It’s me.

I’ve lost more than 30 pounds. I’m healthy, happy and accustomed to a new lifestyle. I couldn’t have done it without you, of course. You kept me on my toes. Challenged me to log every single piece of food I’ve put in my mouth since December. Taught me everything I know about calories — how many I can eat without gaining weight, how many actually are in that restaurant salad I used to think was so healthy.

You encouraged me. Announced my victories. Made me so much more aware.

Like a little personal dietician tucked in my back pocket.

But it’s time for me to try this on my own.

I know I can do it. I went on vacation without you last week and managed to splurge without suffering for it. I ate fried shrimp, homemade pimento cheese and ice cream (not in one sitting!), but I knew to take it easy on other meals. And I exercised. It felt amazing to step on the scale a week later and discover that I hadn’t gained an ounce.

I’m ready to try this on my own.

But I know you’ll be there. Ready to welcome me back with open arms if I slip up. I might especially need you to be my date to the State Fair this fall. And I might booty call you as the holidays approach, because it’s difficult for me to avoid these or these.

Stay strong, MyFitnessPal. You won’t miss me for long. Millions of others are counting on you.

xoxo,
Suzanne

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You look AMAZING.

    That is all.

  2. Over 30 lbs?!?!! Holy shit, girl, awesome job! You look simply incredible, and I know you can do this on your own. You do too. 😉

  3. Whenever I see you or a picture of you, I am always struck by how fabulous you look. Now I need to reestablish my relationship with MyFitnessPal. We have just been dating off and on.

  4. Good for you lady! You are totally rocking this lifestyle. Keep at it, you can definitely do it by yourself.

  5. Congrats but I’m just getting into a relationship with my fitness pal because of reading your blog so keep the healthy tips coming! 😉 you look amazing and love the outfits you are rockin.

    • Of course! I wouldn’t be where I am without MFP. You can do this! It’s so worth it. And my blog will definitely continue to reflect our healthy lifestyle, no doubt. It’s comments like yours that keep me going. Thank you.

  6. Mad props Yo! You Go Girl! Daammmmn Gina! Whoa!

    drop the mic

    Deputy Out.

    • You freaking rule.

  7. You CAN do it! I find My Fitness Pal etc to be so exhausting since I cook so much – it just takes forever and sucks my energy away. But I know the goal is worth it, as you show yourself. Perhaps I’ll get back on the wagon just as you’re sliding (rightfully, trimphantly) off.

    Also: Deputy is awesome.

    • Thanks for the encouragement! You’re so right about MFP … I just about cracked trying to deconstruct some homemade potato salad the other week. Oy.

  8. So well-written. I needed to see this this AM as I’m fighting w/my scale at the moment. I recently broke up with the Lose It app as I was turning into the person who sat with her head in her phone for way too long at restaurants.

    Anyway, thank you for sharing this and 30 lbs ROCKS! Woo hoo, mama! Way to go! 🙂

    • You can totally do this. I saw your post about working out in the hotel at Type-A, and I thought that was awesome! It’s hard to get going, but once those pounds start to disappear, it gets easier and easier. You got this!

  9. […] calorie goal. And boom. I logged my meals every single day from December to June, when I finally broke up with MFP after hitting my goal and wanting to venture out into the calorie-counting world on my […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

