On being a smaller Big Girl

07/26/2012 at 8:05 pm | Posted in look good feel good | 22 Comments

I wore skinny jeans today. In a size 10.

Those are words I NEVER EVER thought I’d utter in my adult life. I honestly can’t remember the last time I fit into this size, much less on the bottom half of my body. High school?

I’ve always been a big girl. Tall, yes. And big. Hands almost as big as my 6-foot husband’s hands. Size 10 feet. Broad hips that helped me carry and birth two babies. I have always loved my body, even when it was softer and more jiggly.

But the elation of finally seeing the results of how hard I’ve worked for the past seven months is too awesome for words.

I still reflexively head for the size 14 part of the rack when I shop. And then I have to remind myself. I’m smaller now.

Still big. But not BIG big. I reach for the 10’s.  And the grin spreads across my face.

It really does feel too good to be true.

I’ve been a size 14 for so long that I accepted it as my fate. I never really liked having to scrounge for the very last pair of jeans in a towering pile of smaller sizes, or reach way around the back of a huge rack loaded with size zeroes (really, who can wear those?).  I’d throw caution to the wind when I came across a size 12 that looked reasonable. But it was always too snug.

Now my size 12 shorts, purchased just a couple of months ago, are falling off my hips. I never thought this would be my reality.

Please don’t get me wrong. I’m not writing this to slam my fellow big girls, or to say there is anything wrong with being a size 14. Or a 20. Or higher.

Size is just a number, right?

It shouldn’t matter to me, but today in this moment, sitting (comfortably!) in these jeans, it makes me happy.

(p.s. I’ve been working up the nerve to do a before-and-after photo post with numbers. The numbers that no woman wants to share. Stay tuned …)

(p.p.s. The jeans are technically “skinny bootcut,” but that still counts right?)

22 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You rock that skinny bootcut, girl! Lookin good!

    And yes, just numbers. That’s the reason I don’t own a scale. But you still know when you look and feel good. Enjoy!

  2. You look fantastic!!
    While it may just be a number, sometimes a little bit smaller number can put a big spring in your step.

  3. You look so great and you should brag on yourself. I’m so proud of you. You have inspired me stay on track with good old MyFitnessPal!

    By the way that is a very cute outfit! And boot cut only means wider at the ankle so those definitely count as skinny jeans.

  4. Congrats on such an awesome accomplishment! You look fabulous!

    We just joined the Y this week and I’m looking forward to getting back into serious shape (versus my kinda sorta not really in shape that I’ve been for a while). In Costa Rica, I took a Zumba class with my cousin– twice– and it renewed my desire to be back in the gym. I’m the smallest I’ve been in years but definitely not the most toned or in shape!

    Hope to see you sometime soon!

  5. You look GREAT!!! Rock them size 10s!

  6. You look amazing and I’m so proud of you for how you accomplished it! Oh, and to find another lady who wears size 10 shoes!!! In high school I was tall and scrawny. Too scrawny for my build although it was achieved without dieting. The last 5-10 years, though, I’ve put on weight and while I have weight to lose, I think my body has shifted to support my build and the extra weight it can support.

    But again, great job and what a great feeling it must be!

  7. Congrats on the weight loss!

  8. You look AMAZING! I know what you mean about picking through the stack of pants that are smaller sizes looking for yours. I thought I was going to be a 12/14 forever. Nothing wrong with that, but I just wasn’t happy at that size. I am still working on getting back into my skinny jeans. You keep inspiring me not to give up!

    Can we remove the word big from our vocabulary when describing women? It just makes me cringe. I propose tall or even better, statuesque ;). Statuesque describes you perfectly.

  9. wooohooo girl!!! you look stunning. beautiful. healthy. and confident. you rock!!!

  10. Lady you look fantastic. And I especially love that yellow on you, very pretty! You rock those 10’s, you look amazing and you deserve to feel amazing!

  11. Hold the presses…size 10? You don’t look anything bigger than a size 6 in those pictures!
    I’m a firm believer in the fact that the number doesn’t matter, but the fit does. You need to look good and feel good in your clothing, not be falling out/over it, or falling off of you.
    And you, my dear, wear it well, no matter the number.

    Lookin’ GREAT momma! Keep it up!! 🙂
    BIG HIGH FIVES!

    Also I’d love to see before and after pictures and numbers, even though it’s not necessary. The success is in your happiness 🙂

  12. You look fabulous! Own the awesome – you’ve worked hard & are an inspiration!

  13. You look amazing.

    I’m hiring you as a weight loss coach.

  14. You look fantastic. I’m a recent follower so don’t know the whole backstory but I’m trying to lose a few & you are my new inspiration!

  15. You look absolutely wonderful!! You are such a good motivator for me to get in shape after baby boy makes his appearance.

  16. You look fantastic, and you should be damn proud of what you’ve accomplished.

    Also, I’m jealous that you can wear yellow. It makes me look like death warmed over.

  17. Girl, you should enjoy every minute of that awesome feeling because you have WORKED hard for these results. Amazing.

  18. that is awesome!! congratulations to you and you look great in that yellow!! I am starting the same journey, hoping to get back to a size 10 (I’d even take a comfortable fitting 12 at this point), hate the size 14 – just something about that number!! anyway, you look great!! care to share your fitness pal profile/diary of what you eat please do.. thanks!

  19. WOW! You look amazing!

  20. Big smiles!

  21. Congratulations! You are amazing – and look amazing. So happy for you that you feel so great right now!

  22. WAHOO!!!!!! You look amazing! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

