Those *other* moments

08/24/2012 at 3:05 pm | Posted in Motherhood | 2 Comments

After yesterday’s glowy post about those awesome little moments of motherhood, the universe decided to hand me a big ol’ pile of moments that prove just how un-glowy motherhood can be.

The irony was not lost on me as I lay curled on my bed crying this morning. I had just plopped a wailing Sophie in her crib with a trusty lovey and a stack of books because I couldn’t take another single second of baby screaming in my ear and pulling on my clothes and expressing VERY LOUDLY her unhappiness with everything ever amen.

All this less than 24 hours after I’d written about how much joy it brings me to cut tiny pieces of fruit and wipe sweet chubby cheeks.

Well played, universe. Well played.

The thing is, though, I’m learning that the good always outweighs the bad. Even if the bad swallows me whole and the good is only a spec of a glimmer on a given day. Good always wins.

Case in point: After the grumpiest morning ever, Sophie curled up sweetly on my chest at naptime, clutching Dog the Best Lovey Ever, and fell asleep with her other hand up on my shoulder. The baby who no longer enjoys rocking. Who wiggles out of our arms at every nap, every bedtime, to get into the crib and stretch out.

I knew this was my reward, and I soaked up every second of it.

Take that, universe.

[good thing she’s cute]

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Awww Mama – You’re doing a brilliant job. Huge hugs to you xoxo

  2. Loved these posts back-to-back…totally capture parenthood in all its messy, grumpy, wonderful glory. Awesome sis!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

