Still can't believe this happened

09/13/2012 at 2:05 pm | Posted in me | 11 Comments

I was driving along the interstate yesterday, on my way to a working moms’ luncheon in Cary, when out of nowhere a car came flying up beside me. The driver tapped on the horn to get my attention, as if I’d forgotten something on the top of the car or left my gas tank open (both of which have happened, natch).

So I looked over, expecting to see someone pointing or waving. Or maybe it’s someone I know, I thought with a smile.

Instead, I got this:

A very angry man, who, once he had my attention, effusively flipped me the bird, laid on his horn and seemed to be yelling at me. Then he accelerated off in a fit, flying across two lanes of traffic.

DOUBLE-YOU TEE EFF?

I wasn’t holding up traffic. I wasn’t speeding. I certainly wasn’t causing any trouble. In fact, I was hanging out in the right lane, just above the speed limit, getting ready to exit. And he hadn’t been tailgating me or anything. Just came up beside me out of nowhere.

So, why the rage?

Then it hit me.

The campaign bumper sticker on the back of my car.

Seriously.

I’m still rattled by the whole thing. If people are crazy enough — filled with enough venom — to accost me on a highway over a five-inch sticker on my back window, I can’t imagine what else could happen. What if my kids had been in the car with me? What if he swerved too close and hit us? Or jammed on his brakes in front of me, causing a horrible accident? Or worse?

I woke this morning with a pit still in my stomach. So after I packed the girls into the car for school, I walked around back and peeled off that sticker.

Not because I’m a wimp. Not because I believe any less in my candidate. But because I have no interest in being a target for strangers’ rage and putting my family at risk.

And that sucks.

But I can tell you this: on Election Day, my vote is my vote.

And no one can take that away from me.

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. People are crazy and this is exactly why I keep most of my political opinions to myself. It’s insane and scary how offended people get and how they react, it’s really just a sign of immaturity if you ask me. The kind of stuff I would expect from my 4 year old. It’s so sad that so many people are like this.
    I’m so glad you are OK and glad (yet also sad) you decided to take the bumper sticker off your car. I’m glad your #1 priority is the safety of your family but sad that you can’t share your opinion without fear of being attacked.

  2. Dude. That is insane. It is also exactly the reason I don’t put any campaign anything in my yard, on my car, on me, etc. because you are right, crazy people be crazy. So sorry that happened :(.

  3. I can’t imagine how scary that was and thankfully your kids weren’t there to witness such a cowardly act.

  4. My husband mentioned wanting to get one of the signs for our yard, and (because an old friend of mine from high school has been posting on FB about all of the things that have happened to her as a result of her sign) I mentioned that it might not be a good idea. If for no other reason, Halloween is coming up and that’s just makes you a target for having your house egged. It is unbelievably sad and horrifying that people will attack you or even just put someone in danger for posting their beliefs….and even more sad that we have to keep quiet to protect ourselves. Hugs to you and your family.

  5. That is insane. I’m so sorry that you had that happen. What is wrong with people?

  6. This is the second post I’ve read today about the election where politics and the anger around them was discussed. The other blogger also didn’t mention who they were voting for, because she was afraid to bring that kind of anger into her blog home. I have to say, I roll my eyes at back of the car driven by the mom in the drop-off line sporting the bumper sticker for the candidate I strongly dislike, but I would NEVER dream of cutting her off, yelling at her, or even preventing my kids from playing with hers. I’m so glad we live in a country where we have the freedom to cast our votes however we deem fit.

  7. I hate that that happened to you. I’ve had an Obama sticker on my car since 2008 and it’s faded from it’s original red white & blue color scheme to sort of a pastel blue & pink. I’ve never had anyone freak out at me over it (that I know of).

    Honestly, I could care less if you have a sticker supporting whoever on your car. I get way more annoyed by stickers that denigrate the other side. Even if I agree with them, I just find it obnoxious.

    P.S. Way worse than any political slogan? Those stupid stick figure family stickers that people put on their car to represent everyone in their family. Can we outlaw those please? They annoy the crap out of me.

  8. The same day you posted this, my pal Jennifer posted this on Facebook:

    “Couple things:
    1. The person who defaced my mama’s bumper sticker should be ashamed. Democracy makes our country beautiful. Suppression of that is anti American.
    2. You are a bad vandal. The bumper sticker was actually a magnet and lipstick can be wiped right off.
    3. She is using her energy to make calls on behalf of the person she wants to be president. Maybe you should rethink what you are using your energy to do.”-

  9. Oh man. I was just thinking yesterday that I wish I were brave enough to sport a campaign bumper sticker on my car. My political beliefs aren’t all that popular where I live, and my boss frequently espouses beliefs that are different from mine. So, I’ve decided to just keep my beliefs to myself. I’m not sure why it has to be that way, though. Let’s keep hoping for a day when we can discuss issues constructively, without demonizing others or fearing repercussions for our own beliefs.

  10. 1. Exactly what Cindy said.
    2. I am SO sorry that happened. People are crazy.
    3. I have been walking the line on talking about politics this year too. On the one hand, I know it is my right. But on the other hand, there is so much hatred that I wonder why I even bother.

  11. People can be terrible. But they can also be wonderful. Here’s hoping for more wonderful come November.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

